Early Morning Readings Worth Checking Out Before Starting Your Day

Taufin Rusli
5 min readJun 2, 2021

--

Do you know that 48% of Singaporean adults love to start their day with reading?

Yes, you read it right; that is the latest statistics from our National Library Board. And as one of those adults who consume written content early in the morning, I have some readings that may inspire you to join this routine.

My morning routine usually begins with brewing and sipping a cup of freshly brewed coffee. I pair it with a plate of kaya toast for my breakfast. Just like some productive Singaporeans, my other hand is occupied by my phone. At the same time, my eyes are fixated on the content from my go-to early morning readings.

Having read a lot of morning readings and newsletters, these are my personal favourites.

5 early morning readings to start your day

There are so many great readings you can choose. From many options, these publishers and blogs are worth checking out.

Barking Up The Wrong Tree

A snippet of Be More Successful: New Harvard Research Reveals A Fun Way To Do It

I think most of us want to be awesome at life, isn’t that true?

And if you are among them, Barking Up The Wrong Tree is a blog of science-based answers and experts’ insight to help you be awesome.

The blog, which has been featured in The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Wired Magazine, and Time Magazine, is the brainchild of Eric Barker. His writings are brilliant pieces of literature that can be your inspirational morning newsletter, just like 300,000 other people who already did that before you.

I love his blog because he injects interesting thoughts that may help in life through warm and witty writings. Through his style, digesting content based on science and experts’ insight become amusing, enjoyable and does not make you want to go back to your bed during the morning.

Also, he is the author of Barking Up the Wrong Tree: The Surprising Science Behind Why Everything You Know About Success Is (Mostly) Wrong. The book is one of Wall Street Journal’s bestsellers.

In short, a bestselling author is giving out free content every month about happiness, productivity, relationships, parenting, success, and social life. Could it be more awesome?

The Straits Times

The Long and Surprising History of Electric Cars from The Straits Times

Reading a local (digital) newspaper helps me catch the latest updates around my surrounding. In choosing a newspaper, I prefer to read media that provide quality journalism. That is why I include The Straits Times in this list because they give both of them.

My reading groove for The Straits Times starts with reading the interesting Top Stories, followed by Most Popular.

The last one is the stories-style content in their Discover section. If you are not aware of the Discover section, I suggest taking a look at it now. It is a mix of random insights and must-know news in an easy-to-digest form!

Spotted! Media

Food Deals on Spotted! Media

The Straits Times helps me and other people to know the latest news in Singapore.

On the other hand, I also want to find out the fun happenings in Singapore — such as the trending spots or fun experiences in Singapore. Hence, I check Spotted! Media while munching my breakfast.

Browsing them allows me to find various attractive deals — from F&B, electronics, even books. In addition, you can also find them featuring many local brands on their website.

And if you want more deals, you can try to earn their coins. All you have to do is register, then read or view their content. The coins you earn then can be redeemed for rewards, such as a voucher or rebate.

The New York Times

The New York Times is a home of good content, not just politics

I am a regular reader of The New York Times. I open them mainly to catch up with international news and also check out their Opinion section. But to be honest, they offer different content, not just politics and some serious stuff going on in this world.

For instance, I just finished reading a story about how uploading content on TikTok transforms some self-taught Gen Z chefs to become famous food content creators.

Also, if you are into writing, reading The New York Times may help with your writing skills or find some new words you can use on your blog.

Marketing agency’s blog — or replace it with any blogs related to your job

An example of a marketing agency’s blog — Aiden Creative

If you are keen to start your day with some early morning readings, the previously mentioned blog and publishers can be materials worth checking out for you.

Still, you can also add some blogs that may be related to your day job. Adding blogs pertaining to your career or business industry can be a helpful way to get the latest update and tips.

For example, I am involved in the marketing industry. That makes me include a digital marketing agency’s blog for my morning readings. The blog helps me gain additional insight regarding digital marketing tips and tricks. It is a valuable read that helps me become better at my career.

Hence, when finding exciting content to read in the morning, think about what you do for a living. Suppose you are a social media manager, then you can find a blog that covers your industry and so on.

All in all, there is so much great content out there. You just have to find the ones that are in line with your interests. Hopefully, the list here can give you some good ideas to grab for your morning readings.

If you have any other blogs or publishers worth checking out, let’s share your thoughts on the comment.

--

--

Taufin Rusli
0 Followers

Reading . Writing . Improving . Repeat